webinar register page

Webinar banner
Advance Access: Tochi Onyebuchi
ABOUT THIS EVENT:
You are invited to join Tochi Onyebuchi in conversation with editor Ruoxi Chen about upcoming book GOLIATH (Tordotcom, 01/25/2022, 9781250782953).

ABOUT THIS BOOK:
In his adult novel debut, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and NAACP Image Award finalist and Alex and New England Book Award winner Tochi Onyebuchi brings us a sweeping sci-fi epic in the vein of Samuel R. Delany and Station Eleven.

In the 2050s, Earth has begun to empty. Those with the means and the privilege have left the great cities of the United States for the more comfortable confines of space colonies. Those left behind salvage what they can from the collapsing infrastructure. Their neighborhoods are being cannibalized, brick by brick, with materials being sent up to the colonies as a quaint reminder of the world that they wrecked.

A primal biblical epic flung into the future, Goliath weaves together disparate narratives—a space-dweller looking at New Haven as a chance to reconnect with his spiraling lover; a group of civil servants attempting to renew the promises of Earth’s crumbling cities; a journalist attempting to capture the violence of the streets; a marshal questioning what form justice could even take—into a richly urgent mosaic about race, class, gentrification, and who is allowed to be the hero of any history.

Oct 21, 2021 01:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

* Required information
Loading